California Labor Code Section 226

Eligibility Under Section 226

Pay Stub Requirements

Employers are required to include detailed pay information on paystubs.

California Labor Code Section 226 requires that employers provide the following information at the time wages are paid:

  • Gross wages earned (before taxes and deductions)
  • Hours worked in the pay period
  • The dates of the pay period
  • The hourly rates in effect during the pay period and number of hours worked at each hourly rate (for example, regular rate and overtime rate)
  • If applicable, the number of piece units earned and the rate for each piece
  • Deductions, which may be totaled and shown as one item.
  • The net wages earned (after taxes and deductions)
  • The employee’s name and last 4 digits of the employee’s SSN or EIN
  • The employer’s business or legal name and address

The pay stub or pay record must show the date that the statement was printed. Employers also must keep a record of all deductions for at least three years at the employment place or at a central location in California. Government employers are not required to comply with these provisions.

Below is an example of paystub requirements for an employee paid on a piece-rate basis:

What If My Employer Fails To Provide Proper Paystubs?

Employers who knowingly and intentionally fail to comply with all of these requirements may have lawsuits filed against them. Employers are subject to pay for any loss experienced from failure to comply with the requirements, which is at least $50 for the first failure and $100 per inadequate paystub after the first. Damages are capped at $4,000. However, an employer also is liable for paying for the costs of the lawsuit and attorney’s fees. This type of case is usually brought alongside a claim for unpaid wages or unpaid overtime.

How To Get Started

Contact our team to schedule a free consultation
Discuss the merits and our strategic approach to your case
Partner with us to initiate your claim or litigation

Cases Taken On Contingency

We do not charge for an initial consultation, and Baker Law Group, LLP, takes most wrongful termination cases on contingency, meaning you don’t pay until you win. When you contact Baker Law Group, LLP, we can tell you if a contingency fee structure is right for your case.